Weight Scale

Rise and shine! I have not weighed myself in months. I stepped on the scale and closed my eyes. The scale read my dilemma. I am 5’3″ and weight 143 pounds. 25% of this weight is considered fat! That’s 35 pound of fat!

So how much fat is considered healthy fat?

I searched on Google. The first article that caught my eye was from FitDay.com.

Males:

  • Young Adult: 8-22
  • Middle Aged: 10-25
  • Elderly: 10-23

Females

  • Young Adult: 20-35
  • Middle Aged: 25-38
  • Elderly: 25-35

I’m 38 and I’m starting to feel middle aged after this morning. I am borderline overweight! I knew this already once my jeans needed to be loosened after heavy meals, but I never accepted it until now. I guess I was in denial. True, I’m not extremely overweight, but this is too much for me. I have reach my limit.

The normal body fat percentile range for an athletic male is around 10-12% body fat. Super athletes can be as low as 8%. That is just the amount the body needs to survive. I want to be cut, but I’m not a real athlete. I think a realistic goal for my lifestyle should be around 14% fat. That means I need to lose about 26 pounds of fat!

The amount of weight usually recommended to lose per week is no more than 2 pounds per week. If I follow this guideline, it will take me at least 13 weeks to reach my desired goal. Today is Monday, May 13, 2013. I should be at my ideal weight by August 12.

GOAL WEIGHT BY DATE

May 20:    141 lbs.
May 27:    139 lbs.
June 3:     137 lbs.
June 10:   135 lbs.
June 17:   133 lbs.
June 24:   131 lbs.
July 1:       129 lbs.
July 8:       127 lbs.
July 15:     125 lbs.
July 22:     123 lbs.
July 29:     121 lbs.
August 5:  119 lbs.
August 12: 117 lbs.

Wait…….117 lbs? Really? I weighed 117 when I was 17 years old! That’s 21 years ago! Is this really a realistic goal?

I remember seeing a picture of myself from that age and how my belly had no fat at all. I could barely pinch my skin from my sides. That was nice back then, but I don’t think I want to be that cut again. Not right now anyway. I realize now that I felt I looked healthier when I weighed about 123 lbs. I will see how I feel when I reach this weight before trying to go further. If all goes well, I will reevaluate myself on July 22, 2013. Oh my gosh! 123 pounds! That was a very long time ago! Is this really possible? Only one way to find out.

How Do I Lose Weight?

For the last number of years, I’ve been more focused on lifting weights. I feel I have built a a somewhat solid core along the way. Truth be known, I’m not good with cardio exercises. I lose interest just as quickly as I run out of of energy and breath.

As everyone knows, muscle weighs more than fat. Although I may be wrong in my assumption, I think I have enough muscle mass built up right  now. It’s just hidden under layers of fat, fat, fat!

I am not happy about this, but I have realized that I will need to focus on fat loss with endurance training. Blah! I will combine this with moderate weight training. For me, this means using weights just light enough  to allow me to do 20 reps rather than just 8-10. This will increase my calorie burning.

I feel endurance training is by far the most difficult part of losing weight. I’m just not one of those people that can run for miles on end at a steady pace of 8-12 miles per hour. The feeling that builds up in my chest and the heavy breathing make me feel like I’m going to die! Is it just me or is this normal? Maybe I’m being too dramatic.

Baby Steps!

Learning how to become an endurance athlete takes baby steps. I have to get acclamated to the whole experience including my surroundings such as temperature and humidity. One method I read stated that you should cycle on and  off from a brisk power walk to a light or heavy jog and back to a brisk walk. This allows you to spike up your heart rate and maintain it within your calorie burning range.

So What is My Calorie Burning Range?

Well, that is a very good question. Everyone is different. There are many variables to consider such as age, gender, height, weight, and overall health. One major consideration is heart health. If you have a history of heart health concerns, you should seek advise from your cardiologist.

The most widley used method for finding your maximum heart rate (MHR) is by subtracting your age from 220.

I’m 38, so that make my (MHR) 182. I’ve run on a treadmill in the past and have noticed my heart rate level was a bit highr than 182. My heart was pounding and I was breathing heavy, but I somehow had a sense of euphoria. What is that about? Any further and I could have caused some serious damage. It turns out that this meant I was doing anaerobic exercise.

Anaerobic exercise is the a point where your body can no longer provide oxygen to the muscles to satiate the demands, so your body engages in what is called your Adenosine Triphosphate/Phosphagen System (ATP/Phosphagen System). I won’t go into too much detail on this, but I should not be working out at this level.

Find Your Range

Now that you’ve found your MHR. You should find your recovery rate and your working range.

MHR x 60% = Recovery Rate
MHR x 70% = Working Range
MHR x 85% = Anaerobic Range

Since my MHR is 182, my recovery rate is 109; my working rate is 127; and my anaerobic range is 155.

What Does This Mean to Me?

A good warm up exercise should have my heart range between 60-70% of my MHR. A good calorie burning workout should range from a low 70% to a maximum 85% of my MHR. Anything beyond 85% of my MHR is not an effective workout and will place too much strain on my heart.

Okay, so how do I make sure I stay within my targeted heart ranges? Some people will take their pulse and calculate in their heads. This is way too difficult for me. Between the huffing and the puffing, I always lose count! My best method is to invest in a good heart rate monitor.

Track Your Beat with MapMyFitness! Turn your iPhone 4S or 5 into the ultimate fitness training device to maximize your training and improve performance. Instantly pair the MapMyFitness® Bluetooth® Smart Heart Rate Strap with your favorite MapMyFitness app and view your heart rate data in real time alongside your pace, speed, elevation and more!

Track Your Beat with MapMyFitness! Turn your iPhone 4S or 5 into the ultimate fitness training device to maximize your training and improve performance. Instantly pair the MapMyFitness® Bluetooth® Smart Heart Rate Strap with your favorite MapMyFitness app and view your heart rate data in real time alongside your pace, speed, elevation and more!

After a little research, I  found a perfect match for my lifestyle. This heart rate monitor. The Bluetooth® Smart technology allows you to transfer your heart rate information to the MapMyFitness app wirelessly without any additional adapters. Not only will you be able to see your max hr and avg hr during your workout, but you’ll also be able to see it per mile and hear current heart rate with Mobile Coaching. After your workout you can also view total time in each heart rate zone.

I’m so excited now! I have a better understanding of how to begin burning calories and my new heart monitor will help me stay on track. I hope I can find this device at a nearby store; otherwise, I will have to order it online and wait for it to arrive.

What Do You Know About Heart Rate Monitors? Tell me what you’ve used for yourself and what you recommend. I’ve love to know!

Cut Back On All Bad Fats!

Bad fat? C’mon! Really? Yes, it turns out there really is such a thing as bad fats. This type of fat intake will result in increased fat gains. I don’t want that, and neither should you! Bad fats include saturated fats and trans fats such as those found in red meat the other popular culprit…french fries!

These  “bad” fats may cause weight gain, clogged arteries, the list goes on! Stay away from them! That may be next to impossible for most of us to comply. Maybe you should try cuttting back moderately until you reach once or twice per week. The goal is to stay away from them at all times, but less will always be better on this point.

oprah-weight-loss-jpgOne tip I’ve seen in the past was to imagine something aweful each time you decide to eat something you know is bad for you. I have several images such as the wagon Oprah Winfrey had on her show loaded with the fat she lost from her diet. It’s not a pretty site. Now imagine that inside your body!

Soon you will not want to eat bad fats because of the mental image you instilled into your mind. Psychology can be so used for good.  Why not use it to your advantage?

Is There Such A Thing As Good Fats?

Yes! Good fats are monunsaturated fats, polyunsaturated fats, and Omega-3s. Good fats have the opposite affect of bad fats. In fact, good fats help you manage your moods, stay on top of your mental game, fight fatigue, and control your weight.

Next time you’re feeling sluggish, ask yourself what you had to eat that day. You may find out that the world is being as terrible to you as you thought. It was just a bad choice of food. Choose wisley and you will notice your days are actualy quite nice!

Strategically Cut Back on Carbohydrates

This means to eat specific carbs at certain times to acheiev a fat-burning effect. Complex carbohydrates will maximize the fat burning effect as they stimulate the metabolism without causing the outpouring of insulin, which causes greater fat storage.

NOTE: Simplex carbs, such as those found in sugar (pastries), cause an insulin spike and greater fat storage. Donuts are typically not a good choice for breakfast.

“Good” complex carbohydrates include brown rice, beans, oats, and potatoes. Their use is strongly encouraged with your meals. They help provide a sustained amount of energy throughout the day by slowing down digestion from your healthy meals. Think of it as a time-release mechanism for food consumption.

Another type of carbohydrate is called fiber which can be found in wheat and some fruits and vegetables. It increases fullness and pushes fat through the system to be eliminated. Wait! Really? Wow!

Best Times To Eat Complex Carbohydrates For Fat Loss

Complex carbs should be eaten with any meal preferably before 6PM. Simplex carbs are sometimes eaten after a workout since the body will store it as gylcogen instead of fat. 30 grams of fiber is recommended per day for general health. Add an additonal 10 grams to encourage fat loss.

Drink At Least One Gallon Of Water Per Day

Water intake is important for weight loss. It helps the liver convert fat into energy. I hear some people say they don’t like water and can’t drink that much water, buut there are ways to accomplish this goal.

First of all, 8 ounces of water at different times throoughout the day is not too bad. Two large gulps and you’re done!

Another popular method is the classic lemon wedge or slice of cucumber in ice cold water. It can be very refreshing. The lemon wedge helps your body detoxify and the cucumber helps calm your stomache down and refreshes your palatte. Try it. You will be pleasantly surprised. You can even add both lemon and cucmuber for a different taste.

Lastly, water consumption can be acheived by eating fruits high in water such as watermelon, cantelope, and honey dew. Drinking a couple of cups of green tea counts as well. We’ll talk about green tea and its many health benefits later.

The Plan

  • Exercise moderately. Include aerboic exercise and low weight/high repitition weight training.
  • Get a good heart rate monitor and stay within your targeted heart rate.
  • Cut out all bad fats. Do it gradually if needed. You don’t want to go cold-turkey.
  • Time you complex carb intake well. None after 6PM!
  • Drink plemty of water!

WORD OF ADVISE

I strongly encourage you to take before pictures. This is not just so you can see you progress. For me, this helped me see myself through the eyes of others. It was a wake up call for me. The image I see in the mirror everyday did not match those photos at all!

Also, document your progress! You will be amazed at how much you will learn about yourself. Try it.

Please post your comments and share your experiences with me. I can’t wait to hear from you all!

Leave a comment